How to completely erase mac hard drive

When you select a volume in Disk Utility and then the Erase tab, you can click Security Options to pick how many times the drive is overwritten: Once is considered enough for regular purposes, while three and seven correspond to different U. Restart a Mac and hold down Command-R after the startup chime sounds, and the computer boots into the recovery mode.

Mac 911: How to erase your Mac's hard drive the right way

Select Disk Utility from the startup menu, and you can erase your startup drive securely. You'll save a little time if you do an erase without overwriting, then reinstall OS X, then Erase Free Space with an overwriting option. First, erase a drive without the overwriting part, and reinstall OS X.

After you boot, launch Disk Utility, select the startup volume, and click the Erase tab. Now use the Erase Free Space option, which also offers 1, 3, and 7 passes of erase, and only empties out unused parts of the disk. The advantage is that your computer remains available though often slow while this operation is underway.

How to wipe a MacBook Pro - 9to5Mac

If you use FileVault, any data "left behind" on your erased hard drive will be totally unreadable by your Mac's next owner. But how can you be sure?

Reader Jim Kay, who asked about migrating from one Mac to another a couple of weeks ago, had a second question as well that opens a delightful can of worms:. Wiping or erasing a drive has a surprising number of definitions. In the olden days, in the long ago, we ran utility software that often came from third parties, which would simply delete the catalog and related records.

Such an erase was, in practice, the best way to create a clean installation. To get rid of old data in a thorough fashion, you need use a multi-pass approach, in which every bit of storage in the disk is overwritten with new data often zeroes.

How to COMPLETELY WIPE a Hard Drive and PREVENT DATA RECOVERY!

When you select a volume in Disk Utility and then the Erase tab, you can click Security Options to pick how many times the drive is overwritten: Once is considered enough for regular purposes, while three and seven correspond to different U. Restart a Mac and hold down Command-R after the startup chime sounds, and the computer boots into the recovery mode.

The ultimate checklist before you reset MacBook Pro

Select Disk Utility from the startup menu, and you can erase your startup drive securely. Before you restore Mac to factory settings, be sure to sign out of iMessage. To ensure that all information is cleared from the Touch Bar, you need to erase its data. Follow these steps:. The following steps will tell you how to restore Mac to factory settings.

This is pretty simple. Go to the Apple menu in the top left corner of your screen and choose Restart. When the process is complete, go the Disk Utility menu in the top left corner of your screen and select Quit Disk Utility. However, if you are not going to keep your Mac, it would be better to quit the process and let the new owner enter all necessary information. Simply hold down the Command and Q keys and then choose Shut Down to turn the Mac off but leave it waiting for a new user.

We hope this guide was helpful and you got all useful information on how to reset MacBook to factory settings. Stay tuned for updates!

Erase and leave no trace

Ivan Exploring latest tech trends.